Piano lesson 1 – familiarization of keys

There are 12 main notes of piano. These are A, A#/Bb, B, C, C#/Db, D, D#/Eb, E, F, F#/Gb, G, G#/Ab .

Note that there are notes that are the same; A# and Bb are the same, C# and Db are also the same, likewise D# and Eb, F# and Gb, and G# and Ab are also the same. This can be explained by understanding the meaning of sharp(#) and flat(b).

# – Sharp -> half note higher from the original.

b – Flat -> half note lower from the original.

As shown on the diagram(Left) example, 1 step higher to G is G# and 1 step lower to G isGb. This pattern is applicable to all, thus there will be 2 names for every black keys. (ie.: 1 step lower to G is Gb and 1 step higher to F isF#, therefore F# and Gb are the same).

Note also that there is no sharp keys for B andE. There is also no flat keys for C and F. The reason for this is to be explained on the next lesson

Sharps and Flat keys(black keys) are arranged so that there are two and three group of black keys. The real reason for this is to arrange the keys so that all the white keys are all part of the major diatonic scale of C.(scales will be explained on the next lesson)
This is also a guide to help the player to easily locate and identify the keys. If you will try to observe the keys of the piano, you will notice that the “C” key is located at the leftmost of the two adjacent black keys, The “F” key is located at the leftmost part of the threeadjacent black keys,the “D” key is located at the middle of the two adjacent blackkeys, and so on. With this arrangement, the pianist can easily locate the key he/she need.

There are 12 Notes and you only need 7 notes for a certain key(for a diatonic scale). How? That will be explained on the next lessons.